Select Page

To understand chakra healing, you would first want to know what it is. As a very basic definition, a chakra is each of seven centres of spiritual power in the human body. There are 7 main chakra’s which align the spine starting from the base of the spine through the crown of the head. These 7 include the root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra and finally the crown chakra.

  1. The root chakra (Muladhra)

The root chakra is the first chakra and is located at the base of your spine. It is the chakra that connects us to our physical world, our environment and the Earth. It also represents feeling grounded and also feeling stable with regards to all aspects of our lives.

  1. The sacral chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is located around the pelvis. This chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity.

  1. The solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

The solar  plexus chakra which is located a few inches above the navel is mainly concerned your self-control, will power, self-discipline and also your personality. It focuses bring in control when needed and being able to let go when appropriate.

  1. The heart chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra which is located in the centre of the chest represents unconditional love (which includes self-love) empathy, compassion, respect, kindness, warmth etc.

  1. The throat chakra (Visuddha)

The throat chakra which is located in the neck and the throat is the chakra of creativity, commination, originality, judgment and self-expression. This chakra rules self expression and speaking one’s truth.

  1. The third eye chakra (Anja)

The third eye chakra which is located at the centre of the forehead is similar to what we all know as the “sixth sense”. This chakra grants us our sense of observation. It allows us to question things and also connects us to our internal intuitions and how aligned we are with our vision. It also is associated with wisdom.

  1. The crown chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra is a spiritual connection. It acts as a portal in which it allows you to reach your higher potential. It symbolizes the detachment from illusion. It is also said that other chakra emergered through this chakra.

A lot of the time, people don’t know if  their chakra’s balanced or unbalanced. The stress of everyday life can take a toll on you, and if you are feeling ‘out of sorts’ then a chakra reading will help you understand the conditions of your chakras and reveal which one of these chakra’s are unbalanced. During these sessions, your fears or problems will be revealed. When the problem is identified, the chakras can slowly be brought back into alignment. Also, you could learn how to make subtle changes to help with balancing your chakras. So let’s say your root chakra is unbalanced. There are actually things you can do in daily life to help balance it. The colour associated with the root chakra is red, so imagining the colour red glowing brightly at the base of the spine can be a starting step. Another cool factor is that eating red foods, such as apples, strawberries, beets, beef etc also helps with the process. This chakra is also related to being grounded to Earth, so taking walks in nature and soaking up the air and the sounds helps you connect more to mother nature. Lastly, learning about affirmation are another way to unblock your chakras. Saying “I belong in this world”, “I am at peace with my surroundings” etc  is also a form of cleansing the chakra. When the chakra has finally opened, the energy will be able to flow freely and you will feel empowered, loved and nurtured.